Welcome to Parkside School
Parkside School will begin opening for students from 17th November

A huge thank you to all parents, carers, families and whanau for their support and understanding throughout this lockdown period. We are delighted that we can once again start welcoming students onsite. Parkside will be opening for students from years 9 upwards on Wednesday 17th November. This includes all students at base rooms 1-4 from year 9 and above, Chameleon, High School Satellite classes and Te Waka Tapawha. More information is available on ClassDojo, school leaders and teachers will be making contact with families individually to confirm arrangements. Focus will be on supporting wellbeing for all, recreation and re-integration. The health and safety of our students and staff remain our highest priority, if you have any concerns please contact the school.

Those students who are not going to return for Term 4 will continue to receive an online learning programme.

We look forward to offering the return to school procedure for those students in years 1-8 towards the end of next week with a return date of 22nd November as the target start date.

 

12.11.2021

playground b.JPG

Parkside School is nationally recognised for working with students who fall into the broad categories of profound, severe and moderate disability. We strive to create the most effective learning programme for students aged from five to twenty-one years, to maximise their potential in preparation for the whole of life. Our Curriculum is designed to respond to an individual student's needs in a holistic way. The core pre-requisite to a Child’s success at Parkside School is the open, co-operative relationship forged between the Family-Whanau and the School.

Term Dates

 

Term 1 

Tuesday 2 February - Friday 16 April

SCHOOL CLOSED

Monday 8 February Waitangi Day

Friday 2 April - Tuesday 6 April Easter

Term 2

Monday 3 May - Friday 9 July

Family fun Day Saturday 22 May 10am-1pm

SCHOOL CLOSED

Monday 7 June Queen's Birthday

Tuesday 8 June Teacher Only Day

Term 3

Monday 26 July - Friday 1 October

SCHOOL CLOSED

Friday 13 August Teacher Only Day

Term 4

Monday 18 October - Tuesday 14 December

SCHOOL CLOSED

Monday 25 October Labour Day

Transition Information Evening Thursday 18 November

Family Fun Day POSTPONED TO 2022

Principal's Welcome
CarolWillard2.jpg

Tena Koutou Katoa!  A heartfelt welcome to Parkside School!

Here at Parkside Specialist School we work as a kati tima of students, teachers, teacher aides, therapists, parents, carers and whanau. We all work together to promote and progress the best educational interests of all Tamariki who attend our school.
At Parkside Specialist School every student has their own Individual Education Plan or Transition plan. These centre on the ngakau nui and unique requirements of every student and support their academic work. Our curriculum is an adapted form of the New Zealand curriculum and covers core subjects alongside additional areas of learning that have a strong link to functional skills and developing Manaakitanga and independence for all.
At Parkside we are determined every student is offered the opportunity to become their best self with the tautoko and guidance of our positive, and talented staff. Students are our focus at all times and working together we aim high so our students can reach their sky!
It is a privilege and joy to be the current Principal at Parkside Specialist School. Please come visit – our wonderful students would love to show you their amazing array of pukenga and talent.