Welcome to Parkside School
Principal's Welcome
CarolWillard2.jpg

Tena Koutou Katoa!  A heartfelt welcome to Parkside School!

Here at Parkside Specialist School we work as a kati tima of students, teachers, teacher aides, therapists, parents, carers and whanau. We all work together to promote and progress the best educational interests of all Tamariki who attend our school.
At Parkside Specialist School every student has their own Individual Education Plan or Transition plan. These centre on the ngakau nui and unique requirements of every student and support their academic work. Our curriculum is an adapted form of the New Zealand curriculum and covers core subjects alongside additional areas of learning that have a strong link to functional skills and developing Manaakitanga and independence for all.
At Parkside we are determined every student is offered the opportunity to become their best self with the tautoko and guidance of our positive, and talented staff. Students are our focus at all times and working together we aim high so our students can reach their sky!
It is a privilege and joy to be the current Principal at Parkside Specialist School. Please come visit – our wonderful students would love to show you their amazing array of pukenga and talent.

Parkside School is open for term 2 
From Monday 2 May 2022

School is open under orange setting in the Covid Protection Framework. The safety and wellbeing of staff and students remains our top priority as we continue to navigate the changing Covid environment. 

 

 

Health and Safety protocols for orange setting 23.05.22

playground b.JPG

Parkside School is nationally recognised for working with students who fall into the broad categories of profound, severe and moderate disability. We strive to create the most effective learning programme for students aged from five to twenty-one years, to maximise their potential in preparation for the whole of life. Our Curriculum is designed to respond to an individual student's needs in a holistic way. The core pre-requisite to a Child’s success at Parkside School is the open, co-operative relationship forged between the Family-Whanau and the School.

Term 1 

Tuesday 1 February - Thursday 14 April

SCHOOL CLOSED

Monday 7 February Waitangi Day

15-19 April Easter Holidays

Term 2

Monday 2 May - Friday 8 July

Thursday 30th June whole school parent/carer evening

SCHOOL CLOSED

Monday 6 June Queen's Birthday

Friday 24 June Matariki

Term 3

Monday 25 July - Friday 30 September

Thursday 15th September Transition Information Evening Te Waka Tapawha 6-8pm

SCHOOL CLOSED

Thursday 25 August Teacher Only Day 

Friday 26 August Teacher Only Day

Term 4

Monday 17 October - Wednesday 14 December

Thursday 1st December Whole school parent/carer evening

Tuesday 6th December End of Year Concert: Primary School

Wednesday 7th December End of Year Concert: High School

Thursday 8th December End of Year Concert: Te Waka Tapawha

SCHOOL CLOSED

Monday 24 October Labour Day

Family Fun Day TBA subject to rebuild