Welcome to Parkside School
Principal's Welcome
CarolWillard2.jpg

Tena Koutou Katoa!  A heartfelt welcome to Parkside School!

Here at Parkside Specialist School we work as a kati tima of students, teachers, teacher aides, therapists, parents, carers and whanau. We all work together to promote and progress the best educational interests of all Tamariki who attend our school.
At Parkside Specialist School every student has their own Individual Education Plan or Transition plan. These centre on the ngakau nui and unique requirements of every student and support their academic work. Our curriculum is an adapted form of the New Zealand curriculum and covers core subjects alongside additional areas of learning that have a strong link to functional skills and developing Manaakitanga and independence for all.
At Parkside we are determined every student is offered the opportunity to become their best self with the tautoko and guidance of our positive, and talented staff. Students are our focus at all times and working together we aim high so our students can reach their sky!
It is a privilege and joy to be the current Principal at Parkside Specialist School. Please come visit – our wonderful students would love to show you their amazing array of pukenga and talent.

School is open for term 4

Health and Safety protocols for Covid 19 October 2022

School Closes Wednesday 14 December
playground b.JPG

Parkside School is nationally recognised for working with students who fall into the broad categories of profound, severe and moderate disability. We strive to create the most effective learning programme for students aged from five to twenty-one years, to maximise their potential in preparation for the whole of life. Our Curriculum is designed to respond to an individual student's needs in a holistic way. The core pre-requisite to a Child’s success at Parkside School is the open, co-operative relationship forged between the Family-Whanau and the School.

2022

Term 4

Start date: Monday 17 October - End date: Wednesday 14 December

Term events:

  • Tuesday 6th December End of Year Video Production: Te Waka Tapawha

  • Wednesday 7th December End of Year Video Production: Primary School

  • Thursday 8th December End of Year Video Production: High School

2023

Term 1 

Start date: Tuesday 31 January - End date: Thursday 6 April

Term events and additional closures:

  • Monday 6 February Waitangi Day SCHOOL CLOSED

Term 2

Start date: Monday 24 April - End date: Friday 30 June

Term events and additional closures: 

  • Tuesday 25 April Anzac Day SCHOOL CLOSED

  • Monday 5 June King's Birthday SCHOOL CLOSED

Term 3

Start date: Monday 17July - End date: Friday 22 September

Term events and additional closures:

  • Friday 18 August Teacher Only Day SCHOOL CLOSED

Term 4

Start date: Monday 9 October - End date: Friday 15 December

Term events and additional closures:

  • Monday 23 October Labour Day SCHOOL CLOSED